Special Education » LEAP (ASD) Program

LEAP (ASD) Program

The LEAP Program

Program Information:

  • Located within comprehensive school settings, the LEAP Program offers an unique educational opportunity for students with autism and/or communication disorders.
  • Provides language enrichment, academic performance and social support for students with autism and/or communication disorders who are unable to access the general education curriculum at, near, or above grade level.
  • Instructional options are individualized and may include: special day class, general education mainstreaming with support for mastery of academic content, or general education inclusion with support for social exposure and modeling with peers.
  • Provides ongoing, direct social skills instruction, curriculum adaptations and modifications, behavioral support and highly trained staff.
  • Speech/language and occupational therapists provide model of integrated therapy services throughout the school day. Including consultation to the teacher, instructional assistants and parents.
  • Sensory-motor room available at each site to support the sensory and motor needs of students.
  • Adaptive PE teacher provides consultation to program through facilitating small group sessions and swim program.
 

Staff Contacts

 

Administrators

Katie Rivera (PreK & Elem)

krivera@mpusd.k12.ca.us

Heather Cheatham (Secondary)

hcheatham@mpusd.k12.ca.us

Behavior Program Manager

Alice Oh

aoh@mpusd.k12.ca.us

 

 

Marina Children’s Center (Pre-School)

Cynthia Apuada

Linda Torre

cyapuada@mpusd.k12.ca.us

ltorre@mpusd.k12.ca.us

 

 

Olson Elementary (Moderate/Severe K-5)

Kelly Burroughs

Gretchen Neer

Meggan Irish

kburroughs@mpusd.k12.ca.us

gneer@mpusd.k12.ca.us

mirish@mpusd.k12.ca.us 

 

 

Crumpton Elementary (Mild/Moderate K-2)

Milka Hernandez

Melanie Tanseco

mhernandez@mpusd.k12.ca.us

mtanseco@mpusd.k12.ca.us

 

 

Marina Vista Elementary (Mild/Moderate 3-5)

Amanda Greenleaf

Sam France

agreenleaf@mpusd.k12.ca.us

sfrance@mpusd.k12.ca.us

 

 

Los Arboles Middle School (6-8)

Kevin O'Haire

Sofia Yessina

Alejandra Yanez

kohaire@mpusd.k12.ca.us

syessina@mpusd.k12.ca.us

ayanez@mpusd.k12.ca.us

 

 

Marina High School (9-12)

Kisha Ferguson

kfeguson@mpusd.k12.ca.us

ESY & Transportation

Transportation forms are now published. To enroll your student in transportation services please use the online system. No log-in required! English and Spanish forms can be accessed through any web-enabled device.

Having trouble using this new system? Call Student Support Services at 831-645-1207 for assistance.

LEAP Program Brochure

Family Resources

School Calendars
 
Parent Rights and Procedural Safeguards: