Student Support Services » Health Services

Health Services

Welcome to the Health and Wellness home page! Please use the links to your left to find information on a number of health related topics. Your number one resource for all things regarding health is the health services team members for your school. If you have any questions or concerns regarding a health related topic that cannot be answered here, please contact one of the individuals listed to your right, and we will assist you in whatever way we can. Your student's health and safety are our priority. Thank you and be well!

"You cannot educate a child who is not healthy, and you cannot keep a child healthy who is not educated." - Dr. Jocelyn Elders

When to keep your child home from school

Sometimes it is difficult, especially early in the morning, to know whether or not to send your child to school. The following guidelines are indications that you should keep him/her home. By keeping your child home when they are sick, you are helping to control the spread of colds, flu, and other contagious illnesses.

Keep your child at home when he/she has any of the following symptoms:
 

Fever

Chills

Vomiting or Diarrhea

Nausea

Sore throat or trouble swallowing

Coughing, sneezing, and/or runny nose

Rash or unusual sores or spots

Headache

Generalized muscle aches and pains

Wheezing or trouble breathing

Unusually red, crusted or burning eyes

Live Head Lice

 

Children should be kept home until they have been symptom free without medication for 24 hours.

Please NOTIFY THE OFFICE IMMEDIATELY if your child is exposed to or contracts chicken pox, mumps or measles. These conditions can be life threatening to students who are undergoing therapies that suppress their immune systems.

  

For more in depth information please refer to the district's guidelines concerning illness. You can also contact your personal health care provider or one of our district RNs for more information. Always bring a copy of a physician’s note to school and/or notify the school if your child will have an extended absence due to a health condition for 10 days or longer.

Health Services Staff

Gianna Halton, RN
Monterey Learning Community
ghalton@mpusd.net
(831) 901-9375

Diane Salomone, RN
STEPS Program
dsalomone@mpusd.net
(831) 901-9388

Laura Baza, RN
Seaside Learning Community
lbaza@mpusd.net
(831) 901-9659

Melanie Allen, RN
Marina Learning Community
meallen@mpusd.net
(831) 901-7621

Fatima Mejia, LVN
fmejia@mpusd.net
(831) 901-9877

Vanessa Valdez, LVN
vvaldez@mpusd.net
(831) 901-7332

April Celestino, Health Assistant
Monterey Learning Community
acelestino@mpusd.net
(831) 901-5796

Paula Negrete, Health Assistant
Marina Learning Community
paugarcia@mpusd.net
(831) 901-8913

Teresa Cordova, Health Assistant
Seaside Learning Community
tcordova@mpusd.net
(831) 901-7226

Teresa Garcia Mata, Health Assistant
tgarcia@mpusd.net
(831) 384-0255

Tressa Santiago, Health Assistant 
tsantiago@mpusd.net
(831) 901-7216